Warfleigh has a long and interesting history. Prior to its establishment, the land between the Central Canal and the White River was owned by early settler Jonas Huffman and his decendants. Dating back to the mid and late 1800s, Huffman's Grove, as it was called, was a popular spot "out in the country" where people from the city would go to picnic or camp. It was located along a section of what was to become Riverview Drive between College Avenue and Washington Boulevard.
Warfleigh was platted in 1911 by developer Charles Sumner Lewis (1854-1931). His design took great care to preserve the scenic beauty and peaceful charm of the area. The following excerpts from a 1911 Indianapolis News article highlighted the beauty and allure of Warfleigh.
- “Delightful drives and walks and enchanting scenes”
- “Its deep, rich soil…its freedom from the city’s smoke and noise and all else that tries the nerves of tired men and women”
- “The spell of the land-with its long stretches, the noble woodland…and the beautiful river”
There was even a Warfleigh well that was renowned for its medicinal properties and a popular bathing beach on the river.
Although Lewis’ original design has seen profound changes over the years, it is not surprising that the qualities that drew so many to Warfleigh in his day are the same attributes that make Warfleigh so unique and desirable today.
for more in-depth historical information.